About the conference series

The Unlimited! conferences are an opportunity to discuss research, practice, policy and technological innovation regarding the accessibility of live events and broadcasts. Stakeholders from varying backgrounds and domains come together to pinpoint challenges, share best practices and explore convergences and new collaborations about a growing range of services and products that make live events and broadcasts more accessible for diverse audiences - think of audio description, audio surtitling, audio subtitling, surtitling and sign language. The first Unlimited! conference was organized by the TricS research group of the University of Antwerp on April 26, 2016. The second Unlimited! conference was held in Barcelona on June 6, 2018 and was a cooperation between the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB) and the EU-funded project Accessible Culture and Training (ACT).


About the conference organisation

The third Unlimited! conference Innovation for Access: New Interactions will be hosted by the OPEN Expertise Centre for Accessible Media and Culture and the TricS research group of the University of Antwerp on July 2nd and 3rd, 2020 at its City Campus.

Organising committee

Nina Reviers

Brecht Daneels

Paula Gruppelaar

Sabien Hanoulle

Isabelle Robert

Iris Schrijver

Steering committee

The OPEN Expertise Centre for Accessible Media and Culture is responsible for hosting the Unlimited! Conference series. Meet our team:

Nina ReviersBrecht DaneelsPaula GruppelaarSabien HanoulleAline RemaelIsabelle Robert

Scientific committee

Pablo Romero-Fresco (University of Vigo)

Agnieszka Szarkowska (University of Warsaw)

Louise Fryer (University College London; VocalEyes)

Anna Matamala (Autonomous University of Barcelona)

Pilar Orero (Autonomous University of Barcelona)

Elena Di Giovanni (University of Macerata)

Elisa Perego (University of Trieste)

Rai Sonali (Royal National Institute of the Blind)

Nathalie Mälzer (University of Hildesheim)

David Mass (Panthea)

Andreas Tai (Institut für Rundfunktechnik München)

Maaike Bleeker (Universiteit Utrecht)

Anna Jankowska (Autonomous University of Barcelona)

Hayley Dawson (University of Roehampton)

Jemina Napier (Catholic University of Leuven)

Heidi Salaets (Catholic University of Leuven)

Gert Vercauteren (University of Antwerp)